Search for Savings & Loans
President William Ruto Names New Cabinet Secretaries [Full List]
President William Ruto Names New Cabinet Secretaries [Full List]
See The Best Loans Available in Kenya Today
News and Analysis

President William Ruto Names New Cabinet Secretaries [Full List]

Money254 Team
September 27, 2022

President William on Tuesday, September 27, named his nominees to the cabinet exactly two weeks after his swearing in on August 13. President Ruto retain only one of the serving CSs from the immediate former President Uhuru Kenyatta administration, Labour and Social Protection CS Simon Chelugui.

His new cabinet will be bringing in a number of current and former legislators to the Executive arm of government including former National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale, former Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa, former Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria and Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen among others.

The nominated Cabinet Secretaries are:-

  1. Prime Cabinet Secretary - Musalia Mudavadi
  2. CS Interior - Professor Kithure Kindiki
  3. Treasury - Njuguna Ndung'u
  4. Public Service and Gender- Aisha Jumwa
  5. Defence - Aden Duale
  6. Water, Sanitation & Irrigation - Alice Wahome
  7. Foreign and Diaspora Affairs - Alfred Mutua
  8. Trade, Investment and Industry - Moses Kuria
  9. East African Community - Rebecca Miano
  10. Transport - Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen
  11. Environment - Roselinda Soipan Tuya
  12. Lands - Zachariah Mwangi Njeru
  13. Tourism - Peninah Malonza
  14. Agriculture - Mithika Linturi
  15. Education - Ezekiel Machogu
  16. Energy and Petroleum - Davis Chirchir
  17. Sports - Ababu Namwamba
  18. Cooperatives and MSMEs - Simon Chelugui
  19. Mining - Salim Mvurya
  20. Labour and social protection - Florence Bore
  21. Health - Susan Wafula
  22. Communication - Eliud Owalo

The President has also appointed former National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi as the Attorney General, Mercy Wanjau as Secretary to the Cabinet, Monica Juma as National Security adviser and Harriet Chigai as the Women Rights Agency adviser.

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua Roles

In line with election promise of assigning his deputy substantive responsibilities, the president assigned the following roles to Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua:-

  1. Deputize for the President in execution of the President’s functions; 
  2. Chair Cabinet Committees; 
  3. Oversee Implementation of Cabinet decisions across all Ministries and State Departments; 
  4. Coordinate Inter-Governmental relations between the National Government and County Governments including Chairing the Inter-Governmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC); 
  5. Liaison with Constitutional Commissions and Independent Offices in matters that require intervention by the National Government including budgets, policy formulation and implementation of their recommendations; 
  6. Coordinate the planning and supervise the implementation of development partners funded programs and projects; 
  7. Oversee Public Sector Reforms; and any other function as may be assigned by the President.

Prime Cabinet Secretary Musali Mudavadi Roles

In his new role as Prime Cabinet Secretary, one-time Finance Minister (1993-1997) Musalia Mudavadi has been assigned the following roles:-

  1. Assist the President and the Deputy President in the coordination and supervision of Government Ministries and State Departments; 
  2. In liaison with the Ministry responsible for Interior and National Administration, oversee the implementation of National Government policies, programs and projects; 
  3. Chair and Coordinate National Government legislative agenda across all ministries and state departments in consultation with and for transmission to the Party/Coalition Leaders in Parliament; 
  4. Facilitate inter-ministerial coordination of crossfunctional initiatives and programmes; 
  5. Coordinate and supervise the technical monitoring and evaluation of Government policies, programs and projects across Ministries; and 
  6. Perform any other function as may be assigned by the President

The announcements coincided with the resignations of both the Inspector General of Police, Hilary Mutyambai, and Director General of Criminal Investigations, George Kinoti. These resignations were announced by the president on the same day.

President Uhuru Kenyatta's 2018 Cabinet

For comparison, you may be interested in the composition of former President Uhuru Kenyatta's Cabinet when he began his second term in 2018 after winning the repeat election.

  1. Henry Rotich - National Treasury
  2. Fred Matiang'i - Interior
  3. Najib Balala - Tourism and Wildlife
  4. Joseph Mucheru - ICT
  5. Racheal Omamo - Defence
  6. Adan Mohamed - Industrialisation and Enterprise Development
  7. Charles Keter - Energy
  8. James Macharia - Transport and Infrastructure Development (All above were retained from 2017)
  9. Eugene Wamalwa - Devolution and ASAL areas
  10. Mwangi Kiunjuri - Agriculture, Fisheries and Irrigation
  11. Sicily Kariuki - Health
  12. Amina Mohamed - Education (All above were Retained from 2017 but transferred)
  13. Monica Juma - Foreign Affairs and International Trade (From PS to Cabinet)
  14. Keriako Tobiko - Environment and Forestry
  15. Margaret Kobia - Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs (Above two were from government agencies)
  16. Peter Munya – EAC Affairs
  17. Ukur Yattani – Labour and Social Protection (Above two were Former governors)
  18. John Munyes - Petroleum and Mining
  19. Rashid Achesa - Sports and Heritage
  20. Simon Chergui - Water and Sanitation
  21. Farida Karoney - Lands
  22. Raphael Tuju – (without portfolio)

The 2013 Cabinet comprised 19 ministers serving in 20 dockets. The 2018 Cabinet comprised 22 CSs as been retained by President Ruto in the 2022 Cabinet. The Constitution allows a minimum of 14 and a maximum of 22 cabinet positions.

Of the 22 CSs in 2018, only six were women. Ruto’s inaugural cabinet comprises 7 women against a campaign promise of 50% of available positions.

Download the new Money254 App and don’t miss out on the next article.

Join 1.5M Kenyans using Money254 to find better loans, savings accounts, and money tips today.
Get it on Google Play

Learn more about Personal Loans available in Kenya on Money254

Money 254 is a new platform focused on helping you make more out of the money you have. We've created a simple, fast and secure way to find and compare financial products that best match your needs. All of the information shown is from products available at established financial institutions that our team of experts has tirelessly collected.

Instantly search loan products from established providers in Kenya and compare on the terms that matter most to you.
Find the best Personal Loans for me

Don't miss another article - download the new Money254 App Today

Get it on Google Play

Sign up for our newsletter and get weekly money tips to your inbox.

Get updates from the Money254 team on financial news and new Money254 features.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.